Premier Men

The Onslow Senior Men’s side play in the Premier Mens competition involving teams from Wellington and the Hutt Valley. This 12 side competition involves initially a full round robin of one day games in the Ewen Chatfield Trophy. At the completion of the one day round, the top 6 teams compete for the Pearce Cup which concludes with a 3 day final at the Basin Reserve, whilst the bottom 6 battle it out in the Hazlett Trophy. The Premier team also competes in a  midweek T20 competition.


Last season the Premier team battled somewhat through the one day rounds, but finished the season strongly to finish runners up in the Hazlett Trophy. With some exciting additions in the form of Canterbury all-rounder Matt McEwan and former NZ u19 batsman Arana Noema Barnett, the team is primed to make a good run at breaking back into the top 6 and participating in Pearce Cup cricket in the 2014/15 season. 


The Premier Team, along with the Reserves Team, train twice a week, run by Club stalwart and Level 3 qualified coach Rhys Morgan. These are held on Tuesdays at Nairnville Park, home ground for the club, and on Thursdays at the Farnboro Indoor Centre at Onslow College. Both trainings start at 6pm, so if you would like to be involved in either of the top 2 teams then come along for hit.


The Onslow Cricket Club Premier Squad for the 2014/15 season is as follows:


Sean O’Connor (c)

Zac Aldridge

Micah Conroy

Andrew Fletcher

Angus Hazelton

George Holmes

Sam Keegan

Rithwick Negi

Nicholas Pile

Andrew Pollock

Alex Ridley

Tim Robinson

Daniel Rose

Matt Scoble

Ben Shields

Glen Wilkinson

Saif Zaib


Coach – Rhys Morgan

Scorer – Justin Williams